The Tea Party Sedition Letter

A letter signed by 44 Tea Party members of the House of Representatives clearly shows that there was a deliberate, pre-planned strategy to shutdown the government, specifically for the purpose of repealing the Affordable Care Act (ACA).

If there’s any doubt about which party has caused the government shutdown, that letter documents exactly who is behind the manuever. It also points toward seditious conspiracy, an act of treason under the U.S. Code.

The Letter

Back in August, at the urging of freshman representative Mark Meadows, a letter was presented to Speaker of the House John Boehner and Majority Whip Eric Cantor. The letter is a matter of public record as it is classified as a Public Statement by the members of the House.

The full letter can be viewed here. It is dated August 21, 2013 and addressed to Boehner and Cantor. Here are pertinent excerpts:

Therefore, we should continue our efforts to repeal Obamacare in its entirety this year, next year, and until we are successful. However, in the meantime, there is more we can do in Congress.

Since much of the implementation of Obamacare is a function of the discretionary appropriations process, including the operation of the “mandatory spending” portions of the law, and since most of the citizens we represent believe that Obamacare should never go into effect, we urge you to affirmatively de-fund the implementation and execution of Obamacare in any relevant appropriations bill brought to the House floor in the 113th Congress, including any continuing apppropriations bill. [Highlights are mine.]

The Signees

Forty-four members of the House signed the letter. This number represents a small minority of that chamber, approximately ten percent. All but two – Rush Holt of New Jersey and Xavier Becarra of California, are designated Republicans. All but three of these Representatives will be up for re-election in 2014. Their collective signature is yet another action to fly their Tea Party flags, in hopes of continued funding and endorsement as the campaign for re-election gets underway.

  1. Randy Hultgren, (IL) – District 14, Republican
  2. Rodney Davis, (IL) – District 13, Republican
  3. Aaron Schock, (IL) – District 18, Republican


  1. Kerry Bentivolio, (MI) – District 11, Republican
  2. Mark Meadows, (NC) – District 11, Republican
  3. Randy Neugebauer, (TX) – District 19, Republican
  4. Tim Huelskamp, (KS) – District 1, Republican
  5. Thomas Massie, (KY) – District 4, Republican
  6. Doug LaMalfa, (CA) – District 1, Republican
  7. Xavier Becerra, (CA) – District 34, Democrat
  8. Mike Pompeo, (KS) – District 4, Republican
  9. Bill Flores, (TX) – District 17, Republican
  10. Bill Huizenga, (MI) – District 2, Republican
  11. Steve King, (IA) – District 4, Republican
  12. Steve Chabot, OH) – District 1, Republican
  13. Raúl Labrador, ID) – District 1, Republican
  14. Steve Daines, (MT) – At-Large, Republican
  15. Bill Posey, (FL) – District 8, Republican
  16. Cynthia Lummis, (WY) – At-Large, Republican
  17. Howard Coble, (NC) – District 6, Republican
  18. Bill Cassidy, (LA) – District 6, Republican
  19. Tom Marino, PA) – District 10, Republican
  20. Gus Bilirakis, (FL) – District 12, Republican
  21. Diane Black, TN) – District 6, Republican
  22. John Fleming, Jr., (LA) – District 4, Republican
  23. Jack Kingston, (GA) – District 1, Republican
  24. Paul Gosar, (AZ) – District 4, Republican
  25. John Duncan, Jr., (TN) – District 2, Republican
  26. Joe Wilson, Sr., (SC) – District 2, Republican
  27. Doug Lamborn, (CO) – District 5, Republican
  28. Sam Graves, (MO) – District 6, Republican
  29. Rush Holt, Jr., (NJ) – District 12, Democratic
  30. Randy Weber, (TX) – District 14, Republican
  31. Walter Jones, Jr., (NC) – District 3, Republican
  32. Michele Bachmann, (MN) – District 6, Republican
  33. Ralph Hall, (TX) – District 4, Republican
  34. Luke Messer, (IN) – District 6, Republican
  35. Phil Roe, (TN) – District 1, Republican
  36. Steve Scalise, (LA) – District 1, Republican
  37. Doug Collins, (GA) – District 9, Republican
  38. Tim Walberg, (MI) – District 7, Republican
  39. Paul Broun, (GA) – District 10, Republican
  40. Jackie Walorski, (IN) – District 2, Republican
  41. Steven Palazzo, (MS) – District 4, Republican

~Add your two cents~

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.